Website Schools ETBs Training Centres


ETBI Announces Competition for ETB Post Primary Schools

Attending recent launch of ETBI Competition for ETBI Post Primary Schools (l-r): David Leahy, CE of GRETB; Pat Gilmore, former Chair of GRETB; Péig McDonagh, widow of the late Joe McDonagh; Minister Seán Kyne TD; Nessa White, ETBI General Secretary; John Hogan, ETBI President; Seán Mongey, Principal of Coláiste Bhaile Chláir; Tomás Mac Pháidín, GRETB Director of Schools; and Michael Maher, member of GRETB and ETBI Board.

Education and Training Boards Ireland (ETBI) has launched an exciting new competition for students attending post-primary schools operating under the patronage of  Ireland’s sixteen Education and Training Boards (ETBs).

On 23rd November, in Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Claregalway, Co Galway, Minister Seán Kyne TD, Minister of State for Gaeilge, the Gaeltacht and the Islands, launched ETBI’s new project competition for students attending post-primary schools in ETBs to celebrate the year of Bliain na Gaeilge. The President of ETBI, Cllr John Hogan from County Tipperary, and General Secretary of ETBI, Nessa White, attended, along with the Chief Executive of Galway & Roscommon ETB David Leahy and a number of local dignitaries and representatives from other ETBs across the country. The students of Coláiste Bhaile Chláir provided stirring entertainment, including a stirring choral rendition of The West’s Awake.

The ETBI competition is open to second level students in ETB schools who are asked to submit projects aimed at celebrating and promoting Irish culture, Irish heritage and/or Irish language. The format of the projects submitted can be essay, photographic, or video. Photographic recordings of large-scale projects may also be submitted. The winning school will be awarded a commemorative plaque and financial assistance to further promote Irish culture, heritage and/or language within their school community.

The competition award will be presented in the name of the late Joe McDonagh, former Chief Executive Officer of County Galway VEC and Chief Executive of Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim ETB, and enthusiastic Gaeilgeoir and champion of Irish education, language, culture and heritage and the GAA.

The poster for the competition is shown below.


Back to top